Myanmar’s e-Visa goes overland

YANGON, 5 September 2016: Effective 1 September, Myanmar has extended its e-Visa facility to include three overland checkpoints in Thailand.

Myanmar’s Ministry of Labour Immigration and Population confirmed the addition of three overland checkpoints last week on its website.

It said the e-Visa is applicable at three land border checkpoints; Tachileik, Myawaddy and Kawthaung, effective 1 September.

inside no 6The inclusion of the three most popular overland checkpoints, between the two countries, makes it more convenient to gain a visa without having to apply at an embassy.

Citizens of 100 countries are eligible for an e-Visa. They simply go online complete the form and pay via a credit card a non-refundable USD50 for a 28-day stay. Usually, they receive a confirmation email with a visa approval number, which they present to immigration officials along with their passport at the border checkpoint. The actual visa is stamped into the passport.