6 day visa free transits for Shanghai & neighboring cities from 30 January ’16

Shanghai-Pudong-AirportIn an announcement yesterday, China’s Ministry of Public Security confirmed visa relaxation plans for foreigners flying to China.

Non-residents travelling to Shanghai and the provinces of Jiangsu and Zhejiang will soon be blessed with visa-free transit for six days. The deal starts from January 30, right on time for Spring Festival celebrations.

From this Saturday onward, foreigners arriving through Shanghai’s Pudong and Hongqiao airports, Hangzhou’s Xiaoshan International Airport and Nanjing’s Lukou International Airport will be allowed entry into the country for 144 hours sans visas, previously only 72-hour visa free transits were offered. They will then be free to travel all across the Yangtze River Delta.

The dawning of this new era will be applicable to travelers flying in from 51 diffrerent countries. Here’s a full list, check to see if you are one of the lucky ones:

Schengen Countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. Switzerland

Other European Countries: Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland, Macedonia, Republic of Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, UK, Ukraine

America: US, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile

Oceania: Australia, New Zealand

Asia: Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE, Qatar